Science for Life. 365

flathead

I have a terrible admission to make.

The sin was my husband’s, but my child was involved so I shall confess it nonetheless.

This magnificent flathead shown in this image was caught on a rod and reel off a beach in the vicinity of Pondalowie Bay, Yorkes Peninsula last summer. The proud fishermen are my husband and son.

With imaginings of a wonderful meal of fresh fish with lemon and baked potatoes, we prepared to clean the beast whilst enjoying a cold beer or two. Upon opening her belly however, we were dismayed to discover two swollen ovarian masses filled with millions and millions of eggs. She was ready to breed. And how.

We continued to clean her, and prepared and ate the meal but somehow it didn’t taste as good as we had at first predicted.

Now the fact that we had caught a top breeding flathead in her…

View original post 160 more words

